Yearly News Archives: 2017

November 1st 2017

New Clinical Trial for Patients with Newly Diagnosed Glioblastoma (GBM)

Dr. Lia Halasz has been named the site principal investigator of a recently opened clinical study at the University of Washington. This study will determine whether the addition of the novel drug ABT-414 improves survival for patients diagnosed with glioblastoma.

Read more
October 20th 2017

Dr. Matthew Spraker Receives UW Medicine’s Fall 2017 Cares Award!

Congratulations to Matthew Spraker, MD, PhD., Resident Physician of Radiation Oncology, one of UW Medicine’s Fall 2017 Cares Award recipients!

Read more

Dr. Eric Ford Elected to Board of Directors for the American Association of Physicists in Medicine

Congratulations to Eric Ford, PhD, FAAPM, for his election to the Board of Directors for the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM).

Read more
September 20th 2017

Gamma Knife Center and Icon at Harborview Medical Center

Being diagnosed with a brain tumor can be a life-changing event. At the Gamma Knife Center at Harborview, making your treatment as comfortable as possible is our main priority.

Read more

Congratulations, Dr. Simon Lo – New Fellow of the American Society for Radiation Oncology (ASTRO)

Simon S. Lo, MD, FACR, Professor and Vice Chair for Strategic Planning in the UW School of Medicine Department of Radiation Oncology, will receive the ASTRO Fellow designation.

Read more
August 5th 2017

Change in treatment approach can make quality of life better for patients with brain metastasis

Focal radiation to just the surgical area is the winner for patients after surgery for limited brain metastases.

Read more
August 4th 2017

Dr. Ralph Ermoian to be appointed as Associate Senior Editor for Pediatrics for the International Journal of Radiation Oncology

Congratulations to Ralph Ermoian, M.D.’s appointment as an Associate Senior Editor for the Pediatrics section in the International Journal of Radiation Oncology Biology Physics.

Read more
August 3rd 2017

Six UW Radiation Oncology Physicians Awarded as Best Doctors in America of 2017!

Congratulations to Drs. George Laramore, Jay Liao, Simon Lo, Nina Mayr, Jason Rockhill, and Kenneth Russell for being selected as Best Doctors in America of 2017!

Read more
July 21st 2017

UW faculty receive NIH award to expand access to radiation treatment in low- and middle income countries

This $2.9 M research grant from the National Cancer Institute will support the development of a cost-effective technology that improves radiation therapy in low- and middle-income countries.

Read more
July 12th 2017

Dr. Gabrielle Kane Received Society of Academic Continuing Medical Education Service Fellowship Award

Congratulations to Gabrielle Kane, MB, EdD, FRCPC., for receiving the Fellowship Award of the SACME in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the field of Continuing Professional Development.

Read more